Administrative Division System

Updated: July 21 2008(GMT+08:00)
Administrative Division System
China’s administrative units are currently based on a three-level system dividing the nation into provinces, counties, and townships:
—The country is divided into provinces, autonomous regions, and municipalities directly under the Central Government;
—A province or an autonomous region is subdivided into autonomous prefectures, counties, autonomous counties, and/or cities;
—A county or an autonomous county is subdivided into townships, national minority townships, and/or towns.
Municipalities directly under the Central Government and large cities are subdivided into districts and counties; autonomous prefectures are subdivided into counties, autonomous counties, and cities. Autonomous regions, autonomous prefectures, and autonomous counties are all autonomous national minority areas.
The Constitution specifically empowers the state to establish special administrative regions when necessary. A special administrative region is a local administrative area directly under the Central Government.

At present, China was divided into 23 provinces, 5 autonomous regions, 4 municipalities directly under the Central Government, and 2 special administrative region (see the following table).

Related News
  • Quick Links
  • Popular Tourist Cities
Shanghai Half-day
Find a China Holiday
Entry City
Hotel Name
Check In
Check Out

Hotline: 1-800-928-9298
If you want us to call you back,
Please click Here

Related Links  Travel Line  Links
Shanghai Tours Xian Tours Nanjing Tours Yangshuo Tours Tibet Tours Silk Road Tours China Tours 2011 Yangtze River Cruises
beijing Tours Chengdu Tours Hangzhou Tours China Vacations Guilin Tours China Travel Guide China Travel Agency China Tours
Yunnan Tours Chongqing Tours Suzhou Tours Mt. Yellow Tours China Tour Packages China Travel Service China Travel Specials Luxury China Tours
Partner sites:
Shanghai Travel 中國旅遊